Dontcheff

11g XE beta: Oracle Database Express Edition

In DBA, Oracle database on April 2, 2011 at 12:37

Added on September 2nd, 2011: the production release of Oracle Database Express Edition 11gR2 is now available for download.

As yesterday was April 1st, All Fool’s Day, I decided to wait a day or so before posting on the new free Oracle database edition: 11g XE beta. It is in fact out and downloading it took me less than 1 minute even via my slow wireless connection.

You can download it from http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/database/express-edition/11gxe-beta-download-302519.html and install it after accepting the license agreement:

You probably often click the “Accept” button and then “Next” but this time I decided to read the entire “Oracle Database Express Edition License Agreement”. You will also probably end up with some open questions. Just one example:

During installation, while reading the agreement you will see: “You may make one copy of the programs for backup purposes.” If you check the oracle.com license information, it says: “You may make a reasonable number of copies of the programs for backup purposes.”. But we should not forget that we are talking about a beta release of the software, so many things are to be fixed.

I would like to comment on two main things: restrictions and 11g upgrade.

1. 11g XE main restrictions and limitations:

- if Oracle Database XE is installed on a computer with more than one CPU (including dual-core CPUs), then it will consume, at most, processing resources equivalent to one CPU.

- only one installation of Oracle Database XE can be performed on a single computer which does not affect any existing installation or new installations of Oracle Database 11g Standard Edition, Oracle Database 11g Standard Edition One, or Oracle Database 11g Enterprise Edition. In addition, users can run only one instance of the Oracle Database XE database on each individual computer.

- the maximum amount of user data in an Oracle Database XE database cannot exceed 11 gigabytes compared to 4 gigabytes on 10g XE. If the user data grows beyond this limit, then an ORA-12592 error will appear. Note that 11G is just user data!

- the maximum amount of RAM that an Oracle Database XE database uses cannot exceed 1 gigabyte, even if more is available. The exact amount of RAM that Oracle Database XE uses is the sum of the System Global Area (SGA) and the aggregate Program Global Area (PGA).

- HTTPS is not supported natively with the HTTP listener built into Oracle Database XE.

- the list of all features not available with 11g XE is here. It is a rather long list and XE lacks lots of important stuff realted to HA, performance, securty, replication and DBAism.

2. Upgrade from 10g XE to 11g XE:

- copy the gen_inst.sql file from the upgrade directory of 11.2 XE home to some local directory
– connect to 10.2 XE database as SYS and run gen_inst.sql thus generating install.sql, gen_apps.sql and other .sql files in the local folder containing gen_inst.sql
– export the data from 10.2 XE database
– deinstall 10.2 XE if installation of 11.2 XE is planned on the same computer
– install the 11.2 XE database
– import the data into the 11.2 XE database
– connect to 11.2 XE database as SYS user and run the script install.sql, which was generated after running gen_inst.sql

The most important benefits of 11g XE are (as I see them):

A. Save from license costs by keeping small databases on top of XE. In case, you can live with the limitations of course.

B. On more global terms, you can use 11g XE for Database Sharding. 11 gigabytes of user data is quite sufficient for one shard! When it grows above say 10G, you will split it into at least two new shards.

P.S. Will 12g XE have the limitation of 12 gigabytes of user data :-) ?

  1. The limit should be 11.2GB. After all, this is 11.2 database :)

  2. One more thought: I will not be surprised if express edition stays on Beta only (which is OK). I mean… yes, it if fully functional distribution. But Oracle Database Express Edition does not come well with the term “Production”.

  3. One thing I haven’t seen mentioned in most of these discussions of Oracle differences with editions is that XE does not seem to include many field types. I don’t see RowID and others. But I can’t find any list of which are missing. Any ideas?

  4. That is a great tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Short but very accurate information… Appreciate your sharing this one.

    A must read article!

  5. Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thank you

  6. Appreciation to my father who told me about this web site, this weblog is genuinely amazing.

  7. I’ve learn several just right stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much attempt you set to create this kind of great informative web site.

  8. fantastic publish, very informative. I’m wondering why the opposite experts of this sector do not understand this. You must continue your writing. I am sure, you’ve a great readers’ base already!

  9. Thank you for another great article. Where else may just anyone get that kind of info in such an ideal way of writing?
    I have a presentation next week, and I am at the search for
    such information.

  10. Hi, I read your blogs on a regular basis. Your humoristic style is witty, keep up the good work!

  11. Wow, incredible weblog layout! How long have you been blogging for?

    you make blogging glance easy. The entire look of your website is fantastic, let alone the content
    material!

  12. Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d
    ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a
    blog post or vice-versa? My site discusses a lot of the
    same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.

    If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an
    email. I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

  13. It’s remarkable in favor of me to have a site, which is useful in support of my experience. thanks admin

  14. You could certainly see your skills within the article
    you write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to mention
    how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

  15. Wow, fantastic weblog format! How lengthy have you been running a blog for?
    you made blogging look easy. The entire glance of your site is magnificent, let alone the content!

  16. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited this
    site before but after browsing through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely pleased I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

  17. Vogel Medien Verlag

    My family members always say that I am wasting my time here at net, however I know I am getting experience everyday
    by reading such nice articles.

  18. I blog often and I really appreciate your content.
    This great article has truly peaked my interest. I
    am going to book mark your site and keep checking for new details about once a week.

    I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

  19. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than
    just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and all.
    However just imagine if you added some great images or
    video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with
    images and clips, this blog could certainly be one of the most
    beneficial in its field. Very good blog!

  20. Hi there, You’ve done an incredible job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

  21. You could definitely see your enthusiasm in the article you
    write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to
    mention how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

  22. It’s going to be end of mine day, however before ending I
    am reading this wonderful paragraph to increase my knowledge.

  23. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert that
    I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  24. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He
    was entirely right. This put up truly made my day. You cann’t
    imagine just how much time I had spent for this
    information! Thanks!

  25. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme
    of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s
    difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance.
    I must say that you’ve done a great job with this. Additionally, the blog loads
    super quick for me on Opera. Outstanding Blog!

  26. Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while
    but I never seem to get there! Thanks

  27. Nice blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really
    make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your design. Thanks a lot

  28. Every weekend i used to visit this website, because i want enjoyment, for the
    reason that this this web site conations actually good funny material too.

  29. I think that everything typed was very reasonable.

    However, what about this? what if you composed a catchier post
    title? I ain’t saying your content is not solid., however suppose
    you added something to maybe grab folk’s attention? I mean 11g XE beta:
    Oracle Database Express Edition | Julian Dontcheff’s Database Blog is kinda vanilla.
    You should look at Yahoo’s front page and note how they write news titles to get people interested.
    You might add a related video or a related picture or two to
    grab readers interested about what you’ve got to
    say. Just my opinion, it might make your blog a little bit more interesting.

  30. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after browsing through some of the
    articles I realized it’s new to me. Regardless, I’m certainly
    pleased I came across it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

  31. Thanks to my father who stated to me regarding this blog, this web site is
    truly amazing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

